PanAf Project
ICT Research

PanAf Observatory
Get access to the Observatory

ICT and Educators
ICT and Learners
Online Repositories
Contact us

Unesco Institute for Statistics

African Virtual University




eLearning Africa



APRELI@ Community Website


University Of Education, Winneba (UEW)

Tuesday 28 October 2008

Brief History

On 14th May, 2004 the University of Education Act, Act 2004 was enacted to upgrade the status of the University College of Education of Winneba to the status of a full University and to provide for related matters. The University of Education, Winneba was established in September, 1992 as a University College under PNDC Law 322 but the first batch of 481 students were enrolled in November 1992.

UEW brought together seven diploma awarding colleges located in different towns under one umbrella institution viz the Advanced Teacher Training College, the Specialist Training College and the National Academy of Music, all at Winneba; the School of Ghana Languages, Ajumako; College of Special Education, Akwapim-Mampong; the Advanced Technical Training College, Kumasi; and the St. Andrews Agricultural Training College, Mampong-Ashanti. The Winneba campus is the seat of the Vice-Chancellor with satellite campuses at Kumasi and Mampong. The total staffing position is 1,446 while the student population is 18,323.


The University shall serve as a centre of excellence which will inculcate in its products the requisite academic ability and professional competencies, and imbue them with humanistic values for teaching at the pre-tertiary level, conduct research, disseminate relevant knowledge and skills, and influence educational policy.


The University shall become a pre-eminent teacher education university in Ghana, one of the best in Africa, and a higher institution of learning, recognized world-wide.


The University offers both undergraduate and postgraduate programmes under eight faculties and 30 Departments.

Undergraduate programmes include:

Regular Programmes

B.Ed. programmes are offered in the following fields; Accounting Studies, Agriculture, Art, Basic Education, Dagomba, English, Ewe, Fante, French, Ga-Adangme, Gonja, Guidance and Counselling and Early Childhood Development, Gurene, Home Economics, HPERS, Information Technology, Kasem, Mathematics, Music, Secretarial and Management Studies, Science, Special Education, Technology, and Twi,

Part-Time Programmes

Part-time undergraduate programmes include Bachelor of Business programmes in Management, General Office Administration, Executive Office Administration and a Bachelor of Science programme in Accounting, Banking and Finance and Information Systems.

Certificate and Diploma Programmes

These include certificate in Education, Certificate in Pre-School Education, Enrichment programme in Music, General Music Diploma and Diploma in Rehabilitation.

Postgraduate programmes

These include MA (English), MA (Human Rights Education), M.Ed (Teaching of English as a second language) (TESOL), M.Ed (Special Education), M.Ed (Educational Administration and Management), M.Ed (Science), M.Ed (Home Economics), MSc. (Marketing and E-Commerce), and Postgraduate Diploma in Education. Others include M.Phil. Programmes in French Education, English Education, Applied Linguistics, Social Studies Education, Music Education, Human Rights Education, Guidance and Counselling and Special Education.

The MA programmes are offered on Sandwich basis. There are also PhD programmes in Science Education and Applied Linguistics on full time basis


Copyright©ERNWACA Regional Coordination 2007